top of page

Richard Stekol is a singer-songwriter-guitarist and one of founding members of the band Honk; who created the soundtrack for the cinematic cult classic surf film Five Summer Stories.

Richard also toured and recorded with, Chicago, The Beach Boys, Santana, Linda Rondstadt, Bonnie Raitt, Dave Mason, Michael McDonald, Funky Kings, Kenny Loggins, Shawn Colvin, Freddie Hubbard, Donovan, Steve Cropper, Barry Beckett, Geoff Muldaur, Maria Muldaur, Amos Garrett, John Sebastian, Hall and Oates, The Replacements,Tony Levin, Anton Fig , Glenn Frey, J.D. Souther, Jackson Browne, David Lindley, Dave Alvin, Ziggy Marley, Donavon Frankenreiter, David Baerwald, Katy Moffatt, Pal Shazar, Jules Shear, Jack tempchin, Greg Leisz and many more.

Artists who have covered Richard's tunes include Mike Finnigan, Ricky Nelson, Kenny Loggins, Mike Nesmith, Kim Carnes, Ian Matthews, Benny Golsen, Amy Holland, Pat Brayer, Beth Fitchet Wood, Mihana Irmgaard, and many others.

He has recorded 8 solo records. His song "America Walking By" was called "Song of the decade" by the Los angeles Times.

Richard and Kenny Loggins co-wrote "Mr. Night", which was on Kenny Loggins Keep the Fire record and later in the soundtrack for Caddyshack.

He has worked with executives and producers such as Clive Davis, Val Garay, Steve Hague, Don Ellis, Goddard Lieberson, Russ Regan, Paul Rotheschild, Bill Drescher, Henry Lewy, Steve Desper, Nico and the Robbs at Cherokee.

More recently he co-wrote the title song to Greg Macgillivray's Imax film Hurricane on the Bayou about New Orleans and put out several records as The Black Plums with critcally acclaimed experimental band Kneebody, which includes drummer and multi-instrumentalist Nate Wood.

Richard’s music encompasses all styles of music and his live performances are a healthy serving of blues, jazz, rock, humor and undoubtedly the unexpected!

bottom of page